The City of Ember Background

The City of Ember Background

The City of Embers, written by Jeanne DuPrau, is the first in the eponymous series, and was published in 2003 under the genre of children's science-fiction. The book was followed by three sequels and a comic book to follow in 2012, illustrated by Niklas Asker.

The book is based on a post-apocalyptic setting, whereby Ember, a futuristic city, has been set up with enough resources to survive the population for the next 200 years. However, after the passing of this period, supplies begin to run dangerously short, and the main protagonists, Lina and Doon, young laborers, begin their quest to help escape Ember.

DuPrau's book has been praised by reviewers, with Publishers Weekly remarking on the use of "full blooded characters" to convey the struggles being faced. The book was also adapted into a film version, released in 2008, starring Saoirse Ronan as Lina, and Harry Treadaway as Doon.

Update this section!

You can help us out by revising, improving and updating this section.

Update this section

After you claim a section you’ll have 24 hours to send in a draft. An editor will review the submission and either publish your submission or provide feedback.