No Sugar

No Sugar Study Guide

No Sugar is a play written by Jack Davis, published in 1986. It takes place during the Great Depression in Western Australia and follows an Aboriginal family, the Millimuras, as they navigate life on corrupt reservations and contend with the structural violence and racism of the white authorities who purport to protect them.

The play is the first part of a trilogy called the First Born Trilogy, along with The Dreamers and Barungin. Some of the characters in No Sugar are based on actual historical figures, such as A.O. Neville, who was the actual Chief Protector of Aborigines in the 1920s and 30s.

At the time of its publication, No Sugar won the 1987 Western Australian Premiers Award and the Kate Challis RAKA Award for Indigenous Playwrights in 1992.