Teacher Guide

No Longer at Ease Lesson Plan

Relationship to Other Books

No Longer at Ease is considered the second in Chinua Achebe's 'African trilogy.' The first in the trilogy is his first novel, Things Fall Apart, which explores the life of Obi Okonkwo's grandfather during the time of English colonization of Nigeria. The third book of the trilogy, Arrow of God, which does not deal with the same family. Its protagonist is a Chief Priest who clashes with Christian missionaries at the beginning of the twentieth century. Things Fall Apart is the most well-known and widely read of the trilogy.

Achebe is considered one of the most prominent and important African authors of his generation. He wrote several other books including A Man of the People and Anthills...

Join Now to View Premium Content

GradeSaver provides access to 1139 study guide PDFs and quizzes, 8808 literature essays, 2351 sample college application essays, 386 lesson plans, and ad-free surfing in this premium content, “Members Only” section of the site! Membership includes a 10% discount on all editing orders.

Join Now

Already a member? Log in