Human Anatomy & Physiology (9th Edition)

Published by Pearson
ISBN 10: 0321743261
ISBN 13: 978-0-32174-326-8

Chapter 17 - Blood - Review Questions - Page 656: 19d


Answer. Calcium ion (C++) Calcium ions are essential in all three stages of coagulation-- Stage 1, Stage 2 and Stage 3.

Work Step by Step

Calcium is necessary in the Stage One (Stage I) processes that end with the formation of prothrombin activator. In Stage Two the end process is the conversion of prothrombin to thrombin through the action of prothrombin activator. Calcium ions are involved in one of the steps in these reactions. In stage Three, thrombin and Ca++ ions act on fibrin stabilization factor (FSF, factor XII) to covert fibrin polymers into a fibrin mesh. The formation of this fibrin network is a vital process in the formation of clots. Coagulation is an essential life saving process that occurs in approximately four minutes after injury. Calcium ions are essential for this process to happen fast enough to stanch a potential life-threatening loss of blood after an injury.
Update this answer!

You can help us out by revising, improving and updating this answer.

Update this answer

After you claim an answer you’ll have 24 hours to send in a draft. An editor will review the submission and either publish your submission or provide feedback.