The Case Book of Sherlock Holmes Background

The Case Book of Sherlock Holmes Background

The Case Book of Sherlock Holmes contains twelve stories written about the legendary consulting detective by his creator Arthur Conan Doyle. Like all the other Sherlock Holmes adventures, these stories were originally published in the Strand Magazine, in this case between October 1921 and April 1927. What sets the stories collected in the Case Book of Sherlock Holmes from all other anthologies is that that they represent the winding down of a literary sensation. These are the last original mysteries of Holmes to be published in the Strand and this is the last collection of original stories penned by Doyle.

Although new editions sometimes reorder the stories, the order in which they appeared when The Case Book of Sherlock Holmes was originally published (in chronological ordering according to their serial publication date) is as follows:

"The Adventure of the Mazarin Stone" (1921)

"The Problem of Thor Bridge" (1922)

"The Adventure of the Creeping Man" (1923)

"The Adventure of the Sussex Vampire" (1924)

"The Adventure of the Three Garridebs" (1924)

"The Adventure of the Illustrious Client" (1924)

"The Adventure of the Three Gables" (1926)

"The Adventure of the Blanched Soldier" (1926)

"The Adventure of the Lion's Mane" (1926)

"The Adventure of the Retired Colourman" (1926)

"The Adventure of the Veiled Lodger" (1927)

"The Adventure of Shoscombe Old Place" (1927)

Some of the selections that that appear in The Case Book of Sherlock Holmes are the only remaining original Holmes stories written by Doyle that are not in the public domain. More will be added according to copyright law expiration dates until the year 2023, at which point all of the Holmes adventures will officially be considered public domain.

Several of the stories in the collection were adapted for the highly regarded Granada TV series starring Jeremy Brett as Holmes. In fact, all but the "Blanched Soldier," the "Lion’s Mane," the "Veiled Lodger," and the "Retired Colourman" were adapted for the acclaimed series. ("The Three Gables" is incorporated thematically though not narratively into "The Mazarin Stone.")

Update this section!

You can help us out by revising, improving and updating this section.

Update this section

After you claim a section you’ll have 24 hours to send in a draft. An editor will review the submission and either publish your submission or provide feedback.