Teacher Guide

I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings Lesson Plan

Relationship to Other Books

I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings is the first of Maya Angelou’s seven part series of books about her life. The next book in the series, Gather Together in My Name, picks up where Caged Bird left off and includes further exploration of the themes and ideas Angelou presents in Caged Bird. In addition, scholars and critics claim that Gather Together in My Name is better written than Caged Bird. All of these factors make it a logical choice when looking for works that connect well with Caged Bird.

Another work to consider is Mill on the Floss by George Elliot. Critics have found many similarities between the two works, citing that they both focus on strong-willed heroines, examine literature...

Join Now to View Premium Content

GradeSaver provides access to 1399 study guide PDFs and quizzes, 10235 literature essays, 2599 sample college application essays, 497 lesson plans, and ad-free surfing in this premium content, “Members Only” section of the site! Membership includes a 10% discount on all editing orders.

Join Now

Already a member? Log in