A Storm of Swords Background

A Storm of Swords Background

A Storm of Swords is the third book in the series written by J.R.R. Martin, A Song of Ice and Fire. It is the longest book in the series and because of this it appears sometimes in two volumes and even under a different name. The book is a continuation of A clash of Kings where the war between the five Kings in Westeros was the main subject. In A Storm of Swords, it starts slowly to become clear who the winner of the civil war will be so the book focuses more on the political dynamics in the land and how various characters try to maintain their power and influence.

Just like in the previous books, the story is told from different points of views and in different locations in the fictional universe. There are 9 different point of views not including the prologue and epilogue and the story takes place roughly in four main geographic areas mainly in the North, including the story taking place beyond the Wall, another part of the story take place is the Riverlands where the Catelyn, Jamie and Arya’s points of view overlap at certain points, then we also have King’s Landing where once more the story is created by combining different points of view and lately the events taking place in the East.

The book was published in 2000 and an illustrated edition appeared six years later. Also in 2006, a board game bearing the name A Storm of Swords appeared.

The book was placed as the number 1 rated book at the Internet Book List since a revision of the rating system in October 2005 and the events described in the book are also included in the TV-series Game of Thrones.

Update this section!

You can help us out by revising, improving and updating this section.

Update this section

After you claim a section you’ll have 24 hours to send in a draft. An editor will review the submission and either publish your submission or provide feedback.