A Knight of the Seven Kingdoms Background

A Knight of the Seven Kingdoms Background

Almost 100 years before everything happened in Game of Thrones, A Knight of the Seven Kingdoms is a compilation of the official three prequels to A Song of Ice and Fire, one of George R. R. Martin’s works. In A Knight of the Seven Kingdoms, the Iron Throne is still held by the Targaryens and the living people can still remember the last dragon.

A Knight of the Seven Kingdoms contains the first three Dunk and Egg novellas, The Hedge Knight, The Sworn Sword, The Mystery Knight. These three prequels follow Dunk, the future commander of the Kingsguard, and Egg, the future king Aegon V Targaryen. The first, The Hedge Knight, was published in August 25, 1998 in the Legends anthology. The second, The Sworn Sword, was published in 2003, and the last, The Mystery Knight, was published in the Warriors anthology in 2010.

Update this section!

You can help us out by revising, improving and updating this section.

Update this section

After you claim a section you’ll have 24 hours to send in a draft. An editor will review the submission and either publish your submission or provide feedback.