Teacher Guide

Possession Lesson Plan

Relationship to Other Books

A.S. Byatt has written numerous novels, short story collections, and nonfiction works. These include novels The Shadow of the Sun (1964), The Virgin in the Garden (1978), The Biographers Tale (2000), and The Children's Book (2009); short story collections The Matisse Stories (1993) and The Djinn in the Nightingale's Eye (1994); and nonfiction works Degrees of Freedom: The Early Novels of Iris Murdoch (1965) and Unruly Times: Wordsworth and Coleridge (1989). She has also edited scholarly volumes on Wordsworth, Coleridge, and George Eliot.

Possession has been called a "romance of the archives" novel, putting it into a loose category with P.D. James's Original Sin (1994) and Umberto...

Join Now to View Premium Content

GradeSaver provides access to 1175 study guide PDFs and quizzes, 9061 literature essays, 2377 sample college application essays, 399 lesson plans, and ad-free surfing in this premium content, “Members Only” section of the site! Membership includes a 10% discount on all editing orders.

Join Now

Already a member? Log in