Kurt Vonnegut's Short Stories

Kurt Vonnegut's Short Stories Film adaptations of Vonnegut's Work

Though Vonnegut's work is prized for its imaginative content, it has proved difficult enough to adapt for film and television that only a few attempts have been made.

In 1995, Showtime adapted "Harrison Bergeron" into a made-for-TV movie starring Sean Astin. It strayed considerably from the plot of the short story. Two other short film versions have been made, one in 2006 and one in 2009 called 2081, starring Armie Hammer.

"Who Am I This Time?" was adapted as a short television movie in 1982 starring Christopher Walken and Susan Sarandon, and directed by Jonathan Demme. In 2008, BBC Radio 4 produced a radio play version starring Lou Hirsch, Kerry Shale, Joanne Froggatt and Maureen Lipman.

Showtime also adapted "Welcome to the Monkey House" as "Kurt Vonnegut's Monkey House" in 1991.