Teacher Guide

Hag-Seed Lesson Plan

Introduction to Hag-Seed

Hag-Seed is a novel written by Margaret Atwood as the seventh book in the “Hogarth Shakespeare” series, in which contemporary authors retell one of Shakespeare’s classics. In Hag-Seed, Atwood does a retelling of The Tempest, a classic play about revenge and magic. Atwood tells the story of Felix, a theater director of local fame, who wants to put on an eccentric version of The Tempest in order to reconnect with his deceased daughter (she died when she was 3 years old). Instead, he is fired by his nemesis. He goes off the grid for awhile and begins to lose touch with reality because of his isolation. Felix works for twelve years to hatch a revenge plot against those who humiliate him. He...

Join Now to View Premium Content

GradeSaver provides access to 1721 study guide PDFs and quizzes, 10780 literature essays, 2703 sample college application essays, 653 lesson plans, and ad-free surfing in this premium content, “Members Only” section of the site! Membership includes a 10% discount on all editing orders.

Join Now

Already a member? Log in