Four Quartets Background

Four Quartets Background

Published in 1943, Four Quartets is a group of four poems released separately and written by T.S. Eliot. Many of the poems in the collection were admired by critics, but other writers considered them to be too religious in nature. The collection was the last written by T.S. Eliot, so they received great popularity after his unfortunate death.

T.S. Eliot was a modernist writer and poet born in 1888. Some of his best poems include The Waste Land and Ash Wednesday, and the dragged-out release times of Four Quartets made it an ever more popular series. He won several notable writing prizes such as the Nobel Prize in Literature, and became a British citizen when he moved there in 1927, living there until his last years.

Update this section!

You can help us out by revising, improving and updating this section.

Update this section

After you claim a section you’ll have 24 hours to send in a draft. An editor will review the submission and either publish your submission or provide feedback.