Aristotle's Metaphysics Summary

Aristotle's Metaphysics Summary

The book is arranged in 14 sections: Α, α, Β, Γ, Δ, Ε, Ζ, Η, Θ, Ι, Κ, Λ, Μ, and N (That is Big Alpha, Little Alpha, Beta, Gamma, Delta, Epsilon, Zeta, Eta, Theta, Iota, Kappa, Lambda, Mu and Nu). The subject matter ranges from science to philosophy to theology and catalogues many discussions related to these themes. The Metaphysics is sometimes divided into three sections: A-E, Z-Θ, and I-N. 

1-2. A "Big Alpha" discusses the motion of meaning as it flows from cause to effect. It argues that things exist because of causative forces that he calls first principles. It also recapitulates arguments from other philosophers, importantly so, Plato, and details their positions on causality and causal logic. α "Little Alpha" details counterpositions to his arguments and makes the case that infinite causality is absurd. 3. B "Beta" details various riddles or puzzles that exist in the philosophical system. Beta is sometimes called aporia or the απορια.

4. Γ "Gamma" deals with the philosophy of contingency and contradiction, arguing that an argument rightly understood is either the case or its contradictory position is the case. This is similar to his "Sea Battle" passage in his De Interpretione. Γ.b. argues that two valid and contradictory arguments can have no intermediary truth. 

5. Δ "Delta" is a key for various philosophical terms including systematic language to ensure clarity in his arguments, although each definition is certainly an argument in itself. 6. E "Epsilon" is an attempt to rank the importances of the Philosophies, arguing that Metaphysical Philosophy is primary to the others because it is ultimate. 

7. Z "Zeta" begins the middle section of the Metaphysics, and discusses at length Ontology, or the study of being. It investigates questions about substance and essence. It is itself subdivided into thematic sections but can be generally understood as ontology, essence and the natural design of a thing's existence, and a dismissal of Form-centric philosophy. 8. H "Eta" is a summary of Z's arguments and clarifies discussions about unity and difference. 9. Θ "Theta" discusses the potential of a thing versus the actual state of a thing. It is a discussion of hypothetical positions and plausibility. 

10. I "Iota" is a proper section on singularity and plurality, discussing what it means to be same or different. 11. K "Kappa" is a reference to physical arguments. 12. Λ "Lambda" discusses first causes and is the most theologically focused section of the book, positing many famous arguments about a monotheistic God who is the primary cause. This section posits the "Unmoved Mover" argument for the potential of God. 

13. M "Mu," and 14. N "Nu" are often regarded in tandem, since they both discuss numbers and math which are essential to Plato's arguments for form and play a major role in the Timaeus. These passages discuss Mathematics in Aristotle's system of philosophy.

Aristotle's writings are formidable, but overall the Metaphysic provides a substantial foundation of Aristotlean philosophy, although it only accounts for a portion of Aristotle's understanding of life and existence and the purpose of life.  

Update this section!

You can help us out by revising, improving and updating this section.

Update this section

After you claim a section you’ll have 24 hours to send in a draft. An editor will review the submission and either publish your submission or provide feedback.