Teacher Guide

Agamemnon Lesson Plan

Introduction to Agamemnon

Agamemnon is only the first play of the great tragic trilogy, The Oresteia. Aeschylus wrote The Oresteia around 458 B.C.E. It is his sole trilogy to survive intact. The two other plays, Choephori and Eumenides (along with a lost satyr play called Proteus), won its author first prize at the Great Dionysia that same year. A dramatic competition whose later victors included Sophocles and Euripides, the Great Dionysia took place once a year in Athens during the festival of Dionysus. The conventions of the competition were such that dramatists were responsible for nearly every aspect of production and staging, from the composition of the plays themselves to the costumes and scenery. In fact,...

Join Now to View Premium Content

GradeSaver provides access to 1708 study guide PDFs and quizzes, 10771 literature essays, 2703 sample college application essays, 648 lesson plans, and ad-free surfing in this premium content, “Members Only” section of the site! Membership includes a 10% discount on all editing orders.

Join Now

Already a member? Log in