The Caucasian Chalk Circle

What are the ten developments of azdak


Asked by
Last updated by jill d #170087
Answers 1
Add Yours

The developments of Azdak begin in Act IV. First, he protects the Grand Duke, second he denounces himself, third he is made the judge, fourth he judges the case of the Doctor and the Invalid, fifth he judges the case of the Blackmailer, sixth he judges the case of the Innkeeper, and seven he judges the case of Granny and the miracles. The remaining three stages of development occur in the final act.

In Act V, the eighth step is his reinstatement as judge by the Grand Duke. Nine is his ruling in favor of Grusha and divorcing her, and his tenth and final step is his disappearance at the end.