The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn

What are intercalary chapters in the Adventures of Huckleberry Finn?

I need to complete an outline of chapters for this book that can be grouped together according to topics. I guess topics would include slavery, racism, superstition, etc.

Asked by
Last updated by Aslan
Answers 1
Add Yours

I don't think the book is packaged that neatly. Reoccurring themes in this story are scattered throughout the book. We can, however, try to observe where certain themes seem stronger. I'll give it a try anyway.

Freedom vs. conformity- Chapter's 1-4 Huck lives with Widow Douglas. He is civilized but longs for the freedom he used to have.

Rules and moral order- Chapter 8 and on. Huck must contend with staying with the escaped slave Jim despite it being against the law. Huck develops his own sense of moral order throughout the novel.

Lies and Deceit- Chapter 19 to about 27. Huck and Jim meet the Duke and King. They are two-bit con artists. Huck must learn the value of truth when innocent people are used and robbed.

These are just a few which I could think of at the moment. Like I said, re-occurring themes occur throughout the novel so keep that in mind.