Biology 2010 Student Edition

Published by Prentice Hall
ISBN 10: 9780133669510
ISBN 13: 978-0-13366-951-0

Chapter 20, Viruses and Prokaryotes - 20.2 - Prokaryotes - 20.2 Assessment - Page 585: 1a


Bacteria and Archaea

Work Step by Step

Prokaryotes belong to two of the three domains of life: Bacteria and Archaea. Prokaryotes are single-celled organisms that contain no nucleus. Prokaryotes of the domain Bacteria live virtually everywhere whereas many prokaryotes of the domain Archaea live only in the most extreme conditions such as in hot springs or in Utah's Great Salt Lake. Organisms of the domain Eukarya include the eukaryotes, organisms that have cells with nuclei.
Update this answer!

You can help us out by revising, improving and updating this answer.

Update this answer

After you claim an answer you’ll have 24 hours to send in a draft. An editor will review the submission and either publish your submission or provide feedback.