Biology 2010 Student Edition

Published by Prentice Hall
ISBN 10: 9780133669510
ISBN 13: 978-0-13366-951-0

Chapter 12, DNA - 12.2 - The Structure of DNA - 12.2 Assessment - Page 348: 1a


DNA is a chain of subunits called nucleotides which are composed of deoxyribose, phosphate groups, and a nitrogenous base.

Work Step by Step

Deoxyribose is a five-carbon sugar. The phosphate groups, bonded to deoxyribose, make up the backbone of the DNA molecule. There are four different nitrogenous bases that make up DNA: adenine, guanine, cytosine, and thymine. A deoxyribose molecule, a phosphate group, and one of the four nitrogenous bases make up the subunit called a nucleotide, which are the building blocks of the DNA molecule.
Update this answer!

You can help us out by revising, improving and updating this answer.

Update this answer

After you claim an answer you’ll have 24 hours to send in a draft. An editor will review the submission and either publish your submission or provide feedback.