Intermediate Algebra (6th Edition)

Published by Pearson
ISBN 10: 0321785045
ISBN 13: 978-0-32178-504-6

Chapter 3 - Section 3.1 - Graphing Equations - Vocabulary, Readiness & Video Check: 2


4 quadrants; 2 axes

Work Step by Step

The rectangular coordinate system consists of two number lines that intersect at right angles at their 0 coordinates. These two number lines are known as the x- and y-axes. The two axes divide the rectangular plane into four quadrants (and the axes themselves are not in any quadrant). The top-right quadrant is quadrant I and quadrants II, III, IV are numbered counterclockwise from the first quadrant.
Small 1465076956
Update this answer!

You can help us out by revising, improving and updating this answer.

Update this answer

After you claim an answer you’ll have 24 hours to send in a draft. An editor will review the submission and either publish your submission or provide feedback.