Teacher Guide

Let the Circle be Unbroken Lesson Plan

Introduction to Let the Circle be Unbroken

Let the Circle Be Unbroken is the third novel that Taylor wrote of the Logan family, though it comes much later in the serial's ultimate chronology. Published in 1981, it is the immediate follow-up to Taylor's most famous, Newbery-Award-winning novel Roll of Thunder, Hear My Cry, picking up almost exactly where that novel left off.

Let the Circle Be Unbroken tells the story of the years that Cassie Logan ages from eleven to thirteen during the mid-1930s. The second of four children in a very close family, Cassie grows up in rural Mississippi. Although she has grown up fearing the "night men" (a version of the Ku Klux Klan), she is only beginning to become aware of the struggles that her...

Join Now to View Premium Content

GradeSaver provides access to 1126 study guide PDFs and quizzes, 8653 literature essays, 2335 sample college application essays, 378 lesson plans, and ad-free surfing in this premium content, “Members Only” section of the site! Membership includes a 10% discount on all editing orders.

Join Now

Already a member? Log in