Teacher Guide

Hatchet Lesson Plan

Introduction to Hatchet

Hatchet is Gary Paulsen's best-known novel. It tells the story of 13 year-old Brian Robeson, who is stranded in the Canadian wilderness after a plane crash. Hatchet is the first of five novels in the Brian's Saga series, which follow Brian's later life. The book has received numerous awards, including the 1987 Newbery Honor. It has continued to be popular with young adults nearly 30 years after its publication.

Like many of Paulsen's novels, Hatchet is set in nature. After the plane crashes into a lake, Brian survives in the Canadian forest for almost two months before being rescued. The novel focuses on resilience and resourcefulness, demonstrating that luck depends on how you react to...

Join Now to View Premium Content

GradeSaver provides access to 1126 study guide PDFs and quizzes, 8649 literature essays, 2333 sample college application essays, 378 lesson plans, and ad-free surfing in this premium content, “Members Only” section of the site! Membership includes a 10% discount on all editing orders.

Join Now

Already a member? Log in