Doctor Faustus (Marlowe)

what are the seven deadly sins?what does each one mean?

the seven deadly sins in scine 6

Asked by
Last updated by Aslan
Answers 1
Add Yours

Faustus, though a great scholar, continues to prize knowledge without acquiring wisdom. He distracts himself with questions about the heavens, but does not understand the nature of God's heaven. He understands the forms of the heavens, but not the force behind them. Because he is human, and flawed, he fails to understand the divine mystery of God's forgiving nature. He believes himself damned, and so he finally gives in to the devil's pageantry of sin, and tries to enjoy being damned. Although scholars generally hold that Marlowe did not write the segment where the Seven Deadly Sins (Pride, Covetousness, Envy, Wrath, Gluttony, Sloth, and Lechery), the spirit at the end of the scene is basically the same. Faustus agrees to "think on the devil," and throw himself into being hell bound.

Pride (pretty much means self-explanatory)

Covetousness- (wanting things)

Envy- (self-explanatory)

Wrath- (getting really angry)

Gluttony-(consuming too much, usually food)

Sloth-(being lazy)

Lechery- (looking for sex all the time)