Sir Gawain and the Green Knight

what virtues of chivalry are represented by the pentangle?

Detailed answer

Asked by
Last updated by jill d #170087
Answers 1
Add Yours

The pentangle is also known as "the endless knot." The five points represent the five virtues.

"These five ways are in themselves five groups of five: 1) he is perfect in the five senses; 2) his five fingers are unfailing; 3) his faith is fixed firmly on the five wounds which Christ received on the cross; 4) he draws his strength from the five joys Mary had through Jesus; and 5) he embodies, better than any other living man, the five virtues. These virtues are Franchise, Fellowship, Cleanness, Courtesy, and above all, Charity."