GradeSaver (TM) Classicnotes Macbeth: Study Guide
Home : Macbeth : Study Guide

Macbeth Study Guide

by William Shakespeare

Macbeth study guide contains a biography of William Shakespeare, literature essays, a complete e-text, quiz questions, major themes, characters, and a full summary and analysis.

Act 1

The play takes place in Scotland. Duncan, the king of Scotland, is at war with the king of Norway. As the play opens, he learns of Macbeth's bravery in a victorious battle against Macdonald—a Scot who sided with the Norwegians. At the same time, news arrives concerning the arrest of the treacherous Thane of Cawdor. Duncan decides to give the title of Thane of Cawdor to Macbeth.

As Macbeth and Banquo return home from battle, they meet three witches. The witches predict that Macbeth will be thane of Cawdor and king of Scotland, and that Banquo will be the father of kings. After the witches disappear, Macbeth and Banquo meet two noblemen Ross and Angus, who announce Macbeth's new title as thane of Cawdor. Upon hearing this, Macbeth begins…

Read the full Macbeth Summary

Macbeth Essays and Related Content


Posted By sunil t #58978 at May 04, 2008 3:56 PM

Who is the third murderer?

In act III , macbeth plans to kill banquo... with two men... but they have a third murderer...
there can be an arguement on both sides to prove tat macbeth was the third murderer...
so wat points can u prove it is Macbeth himself...?/
Help plz...

Macbeth | Answers: 16


Posted By juanita a #373424 at May 28, 2014 11:20 AM


Posted By serena v #332587 at Aug 10, 2014 3:00 AM